Go Back   Mountain Buzz > Whitewater Boating > Whitewater Kayaking > Kayaking | Trip Planner

Old 06-13-2012   #1
Washington D.C., Washington, D.C.
Paddling Since: 2012
VA/MD/WV/PA - Looking for good Class II+ run for June 23-24

Hey everyone! I'm new to the sport this year, but my buddies and I have picked it up pretty quickly, and we're REALLY bored with the Class I/II runs we've done so far in VA.

I know that a lot of water levels aren't at their best right now in the Mid-Atlantic area, but we're looking for a really good 4 to 6 hour run of Class II/II+ (possibly even some III) to try out on June 23-24.

Our main issue with the Class II's we've seen so far on the Maury and Shenandoah Rivers is that they were too short and too few and far between. We literally would blink and miss them; and, with the exception of one or two of them, they didn't require much strategy or skill at all.

So, I've come here to learn from the folks who truly know what they're doing. Can you guys think of any decent runs that fit the description of what we're looking for?

THANK YOU ahead of time!!

PS: Discovering this sport was possibly the greatest thing I have done in more than a decade!!

paleh0rse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012   #2
Billings, Montana
Try the middle new run out of Fayetteville, WV. 1 class 3.

jwithers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012   #3
Washington D.C., Washington, D.C.
Paddling Since: 2012
Originally Posted by jwithers View Post
Try the middle new run out of Fayetteville, WV. 1 class 3.
thanks for the quick reply! Do you happen to have a link to a map of that run, or to an outfitter that services it where I could find out some more info?
paleh0rse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012   #4
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2002