Old 06-08-2015   #1
Playpark advice?

I've got Sat, June 13 through Sun, June 21st off. I figure I'll boat the Poudre the first weekend, and hit Fibark the second weekend (I've never been), but during the week I want to take a tour of a bunch of playparks. I've been to a few before (Lyons, BV, Salida, and Glenwood), but always at the end of the season at low water. My plan is to see them this year in all their glory.

But I only have 5 days and there are a whole bunch of playparks. I'm starting in Fort Collins, so I was originally thinking I'd hit Golden, Pueblo, Salida, BV, Glenwood, Steamboat, Gore, and then drive back to Salida for the end of Fibark. Now that I'm working out the details, I'm realizing that's too many play parks in too few of days. So my question is which parks are the ones I should be sure and hit?

I'm a beginner playboater, but a solid class IV boater. I have no worries with my roll, but all I can really do is surf and flat spin a bit. I'm close to getting a flatwater cartwheel and haven't really attempted loops yet although I'm hoping to work on that next week.

Any suggestions on which parks should be on my list?

jaffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2015   #2
Indian Hills, Colorado
Without a doubt, be sure to hit Union if flows stay up. It's wave surfing paradise above 1400...and it's currently above 2k.

DanOrion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2015   #3
Denver via GJ, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2003
I would work this counter clockwise for driving logistics. The front range has better snow pack in its drainages and the west should be peaking within the next week.

FoCo, Steamboat?, gore, Edwards (looked real nice Saturday) glenwood, big sur?, montrose, gunnison, bv/saliva, pueblo, union/golden.