Mountain Buzz banner

Phoenix and Flagstaff AZ Boating

2K views 7 replies 7 participants last post by  Jdsampsonite 
#1 ·
Hi all,

I am new to Phoenix from Ft Collins, CO and am looking for some folks who get out pretty often and would not mind giving me some leads or let me join them for a few trips. I have a particular interest in identifying a few key holes or waves for playboating; always game for river running as well!

Any input would be helpful, thank you!

Ryan

#2 ·
Pretty much nothing going for boating in AZ right now. As always, the Grand has water....

Fossil Creek is a super low flow plop and drop, and fairly fun. So that's probably your best bet for any semblance of whitewater right now.

Gila below Old Safford bridge and Verde above Horseshoe Reservoir do get floated at extremely low levels.

Otherwise your looking at flat water paddling right now.

Not sure about park and play options. The only one's of any quality that I am aware of are the waves created by the sloping red rock ledges on Oak Creek near Red Rock Crossing and the Winery outside Sedona.

#4 ·
I would like to add a few things to the comments as well. If you are in Phoenix you should have a few paddlers around you. There is a group of 5 or so that paddle fossil creek once a month as a way to get on the water.

The salt is just outside of town and during heavy rain it will spike all the way to ASU. There is a reservoir in town which backs up the salt but the salt itself out on the B line highway should have some 3- when it rains.

Monsoon season is crazy for big water fast, once you get to meet the locals they should be able to point out park and play in all the ditches in town, also there are a few creeks east of Phoenix that run with rain.

That said Harlan tanney lives out there and so does Cody ? They have run most everything in AZ and would be your best bet for all the beta. I hope you get to meet them. Good kayak shop in flag, premiered on MTV shacks.