Go Back   Mountain Buzz > Whitewater Boating > Whitewater Kayaking > Kayaking | Trip Planner

Old 04-03-2016   #1
Salt Lake City, Utah
Paddling Since: 2010
New to Utah (Salt Lake City) - Looking for whitewater paddle crew

I am new to the west. Came from Pennsylvania. Looking for new crew to paddle with. Class III paddler. On the east coast, I have done the following rivers:
Black Moshannon Creek
Lower Youghiogheny
Stonycreek Canyon
Slippery Rock Creek
Clear Shade Creek
Cheat Narrows
Lower Big Sandy
Lower Gauley

Payette River (Lower Main), Idaho.

Have done a few waterfalls: Ohiopyle Falls (Youghiogheny), Wonder Falls (Lower Big Sandy), Valley Falls (Tygart River).

Would like to connect with some paddlers out here in Utah.

havanacaptain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016   #2
Salt Lake City, Utah
Paddling Since: 1969
Utah Whitewater Club

Finding serious (i.e., folks who actually go and paddle) boaters is more hit or miss in the intermountain west for a lot of reasons, including the distances involved getting to/from decent whitewater. The Weber below Henefer (to Taggarts and beyond) is closest fun stuff, Class II at best (unless releases are over 2k, which has been rare since 2011) - it's little over an hour from SLC but a tube-filled mess on summer weekends (think LDS teens and 20-somethings with beer coolers, sometimes accompanied by frowning parents...). There's a "play park" lower down in Ogden but it also needs water to be worth the trip.
Westwater is 4-5 hours and well worth it, but only 3 miles of rapids in the 16 miles from the ranger station to Cisco.
Cat is big fun but at least a 4 day trip even putting in at Potash - and 16-18 miles of rapids in the 94 miles down to North wash.
Then there's Idaho...