Mountain Buzz banner

Milk Run Partner-August 21

Tags
august
3K views 15 replies 4 participants last post by  abreibart 
#1 ·
I am a beginner kayaker looking to do Milk Run on Arkansas River this Sunday. If interested, drop a line. Thanks, Andrew

#2 ·
Hi Andrew, I think the MilkRun is going to be pretty boney at this flow and be "technical" to a beginner.!!
If you can I would try the Grizzly to Two Rivers Park in Glennwood Springs, fun enough for a beginner to start technical skill development, deep enough for rolls or roll practice and not so much stress, plus the beautiful canyon!
Had a friend/beginner get worked in MilkRun at this flow cause he couldn't pull his roll off due to shallow water.
Hope this helps,

#5 ·
Yeah, but generations of Salida playboaters have taken their first feeble strokes and swims on that stretch....the water leading up to the dam is flat like a lake making it super easy to tell it's coming (with well marked signs for the portage), or it's a great environment for a confident beginner to step up to an easy pool-drop rapid.

I know a couple old-school Salida boaters that run these stretches on the regular....I could probably hook you up if your still looking for beginner boating partners?

Logan

#8 ·
Andrew,