Old 03-09-2012   #1
Phoenix, Arizona
Help on where to whitewater kayak

So I finally did it, I bought a Tomcat Tandem (thanks to someone on here pointing out they were 25% of at NSR).

I have gone whitewater rafting a couple of times but on guided 1 day trips in Colorado, you know... the ride the school bus with 40 people you have never met before and get assigned to a raft and a guide, they serve lunch and you raft some more and then they give you a ride back to your car. That is the extent of my experience but I loved it so I bought a kayak.

I am from Phoenix, so my first question is about the Salt River. I have read that you can kayak with just the one day permit on some sections of the river, does anyone know more details? Is this going to be too technical for me as I am a novice. I would also like to bring my 13 year old son along and he has never done this. I purchased life jackets when I bought the kayak. Is this safe for my son? I am guessing it might depend on the water flow.

Are there other areas in South Western Colorado and Southern Utah that are good for the family and don't require permits that have to be won in a lottery?

Can you kayak through any part of the Grand Canyon without 'scoring' a permit in the lottery system?

Any advice would be appreciated!

bgates is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012   #2
Kayenta, Arizona
Paddling Since: 2006
Get Experience...

Good purchase. We own two of these badboys and they got us on the water and got us hooked so we had to buy a 14 foot raft after about 3 seasons with duckies.

That being said, you need some good quality experience before jumping in to whitewater. There are numerous lakes in and arounf PHX that may be a great place for you to get the rig wet and see how it handles before putting on a river. Go up North and check out Lake Pleasant which is beautiful and often not that crowded. Multiple nesting pairs of balds also.