Mountain Buzz banner

Cisco to Moab

13K views 12 replies 7 participants last post by  stribtw 
#1 ·
Does anyone have any information on floating Cisco to Moab. I am looking for 3 days/2 nights, nothing crazy in terms of rapids, but something to make it fun. I have been rowing for 12 years, but my buddy is a rookie and will be renting a boat. He has rowed, but has little time behind the oars. I did Ruby/Horsethief last year with the family and it was a little too mellow. Any thoughts or suggestions? Thanks.

#6 ·
thanks for the reply.

do you know approx. how far river miles that is?
It is about 34 river miles to Sandy Beach

35 River Miles to Takeout Beach

22 miles to Hittle Bottom (End of designated flatwater, start of the Daily)

Fisherman Ford is about 4 miles. The trip can feel a lot longer than 34 miles with wind and lower flows, so prepare for at least one long day, maybe two. this is a perfect leasurely 3 night trip in mid summer.

#4 ·
The water is pretty flat, well really flat, until you get to Hittle Bottom. The Daily is very manageable for Intermediate rowers, Beginners may have a little trouble at Whites in High water as all the current pushes into a few holes that are runnable at most levels, but will put a hurt on a rookie.

There are primative sights between Cisco and Dewey Bridge, after Dewey to avoid fees camp on river right, Onion Creek has an awesome beach. Or you can pay for some sights on river left. You will probably want to take out at Takeout beach, or Sandy beach.

It's a great float trip you'll have a blast and you'll avoid the crowds that flock to Ruby/Horsethief.

#7 ·
If you need a place to rent a boat, I can't recommend Canyon Voyages highly enough. They have great rates on full setups:

CV - Rafting, kayak, & canoe rentals | Colorado River, Delores River, Green River, San Juan | Desolation Canyon, Labyrith, Westwater Canyon | Moab, Utah