Old 03-21-2013   #1
Sydney, Australia
Best place and time of year for paddling?

I am currently studying in university which has an exchange program where I can study a semester (4-6months) overseas.

I'm not sure what the best months for consistent paddling is in the USA or where would be best to go.

Click here for a list of Universities I can chose from. I'm not sure if I can apply for others not on this list? It would be worth a try if there is good paddling around.

Ideally I would want to be based close to the university but still have easily accessible whitewater. If there was a play spot I could paddle on close by during the week, with some good rivers/creeks around for weekend trips this would be ideal. I also prefer warmer climate/water than cold if that's possible (but doesn't really matter). I consider myself a solid class IV paddler with a bit of class V.

Any suggestions on the best uni's to base myself out of and which months are best would be appreciated!

padallen | whitewater kayaking
Pishk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013   #2
Buena Vista, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2005
Out of the choices you have listed I would suggest California State University San Marcos or University of North Carolina at Wilmington, they are both closer to year-round paddling than anything around here.

Colorado School of Mines is a great school that many paddlers attend, but paddling season is generally limited to April - August in Colorado (although there are exceptions to this).

Hope that helps.

GARNA’s mission is to foster stewardship of the resources of the greater Arkansas River region through education, volunteerism and experiences.
lmyers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013   #3
Denver, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2004
Send a message via AIM to craven_morhead
Either Virginia tech or the university of Virginia will give you a lot of creeking options with rain, especially in the spring, as long as you're willing to do a little driving.