Old 12-12-2009   #1
Moab, Utah
Paddling Since: 2008
Winter Grand

I am new to white water (1 year) and will be doing a winter Grand Canyon trip. The trip begins at the end of February and lasts for 25 days. I am considering the options and/or the necessity of a dry suit. I have heard conflicting opinions on this matter so I thought I would throw it out there to the masses.
1) Dry suit, yes or no?
2) One piece or two?
3) Built in feet or no feet?
and finally; 4) Is a wet-suit enough?
Thanks for any all help regarding this matter!

ps Rodger is into warmth and safety!

Thanks, Rodger

bikerodger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2009   #2
no tengo
Baytopia, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1876
1. ideally yes
2. ideally one
3. feet are nice to have for sure
4. probably not (at least get a drytop or good splash top).

you will survive and late feb can be pretty warm or pretty cold or a mix of both.

mania is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2009   #3
Seattle, Washington
Paddling Since: 1999
Send a message via AIM to JCKeck1
I did a New Years trip last year and I'd consider a drysuit mandatory if you want to have any fun. One kayaker managed to get by with a drytop and paddle pants, but he stayed in the kayak almost the entire time (it's a bit warmer than a raft). I wore either my drysuit or down jacket at all times. The booties and relief zipper are not mandatory, but if you're going to use the suit more than once, they sure are nice. A wet suit would be a recipie for misery.
JCKeck1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2009   #4
Pugetopolis, Washington
Paddling Since: 96
If Roger is into warmth and safety than you probably want one for sure.

Buy my like new XL Kokatat Supernova for ridiculously cheap on ebay. Plenty of room to layer too. I used the same model last march on the Grand and i'm usin the same (model) one this march too. All you need(footies,relief zipper) and its cheap.....
BarryDingle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2009   #5