Old 05-18-2010   #1
Parker, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2010
Whitewater Kayak

I'm just getting into whitewater kayaking this summer and i need to know 1) what kind of boat is good to get and 2) what a good length of boat is good. I will be doing mostly long river running but I want something maneuverable as well. I want a boat that is a good middle ground and is dirt cheap. Suggestions?

ColoradoMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2010   #2
Buena Vista, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2005

Well, let's start with the search button...look around a little before your 1st post.

Check out this thread going right now: Hero or a Remix

Here are a couple others: Beginner Kayaker looking for a boat, Help!
new whitewater kayaker
and last but not least:
Beginner - where to start
and these have all been in just the last few months...

sorry for the attitude, but these questions get asked a lot...

that aside, welcome to the sport, and good luck!

GARNA’s mission is to foster stewardship of the resources of the greater Arkansas River region through education, volunteerism and experiences.
lmyers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2010   #3
Parker, Colorado
ok thanks man... and sorry about the post but i just kinda wanna know wat i should get... no need to be pissed off.. thanks
Old 05-18-2010   #4
Aurora, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2000
Don't mind him. There have been a few heated discussions going on and I'm sure he's just wound up.
Welcome and feel free to ask any questions you may have. Most of us won't give you a hard time, but be warned that there are a few buttheads on the buzz that don't know how to be polite and think they own the site. Please excuse them and don't hold it agains the rest of us.
You should check the gear forum and I'm sure you'll find all the equipment answers you are looking for. Also, you should hook up with a group like colorado whitewater. Check them out at Lessons are definitely worth the money. Be safe and I'll see you on the river!