Old 11-12-2007   #1
White River Info, Please help

I have a friend who works for a envo. consulting company and he was trying to pay special attention to use white water users.

I have never boated the White River in Utah, near the Green, but was wondering if anyone knew if it required permits and what its typical season might be? If there any links or interest you'd want him to read to hopefully give it more substance or preservation, that would be awesome too.

Thanks for the input...

Also, Did anyone ever notice that when these big companies start construction and planning, that they have a bunch of highly paid individuals making sure everything sounds politically correct and washed over, etc. But, it doesn't seem like during public forums when the public has a chance to comment on the proposed actions, that the public has no idea what's going on (or no one shows up)? i.e., no one is getting paid to do the research and mobilize public involvement. I make maps for a living and would love to help mobilize movements if there is any way I can contribute. Sometimes a map (picture) is worth a 1,000 words. If anyone wants to start a new thread, or email me, etc, I would be willing to help out when and where I could. I have access to data, programs, etc. Basically what I'm getting at, is that these big companies usually have a lot more involvement in Public Relations then they let on, and that usually helps them with their cake walk when they build a pipeline over the Flaming Gorge, or put a Gold mine in the Back Country...

Alright, that's enough.

watahwatah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007   #2
white river

hey -

i did a float trip a couple or few years ago, just below rangely and above the confluence. we hit it in May to get the early runoff flow (1000 or so).

got all my info here:

White River

we took out above the indian land, but i remember something about permits required to take out on the reservation land.

good luck!