Old 04-26-2007   #1
Ft Collins, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1998
When is da Poudre

When is the Poudre supposed to start running? I am new to the Fort and trying to figure out how these controlled rivers actually run.

protopyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2007   #2
Fort Collins, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2006
its usually running by now... its getting really close though. I was up there yesterday and pineview rock is reading about .6. I think what's been happening is that the temp. in the high country has been pretty mild in the last couple weeks. Im pretty sure with all the really warm weather forecasted for the next week that it'll probably begin to run this weekend. My guess is that its gonna shoot up a ton sunday, since thats going to be a very warm day.

jballen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2007   #3
Steamboat, Colorado!
Paddling Since: 2005
Not that I am the world's expert on this, but last year this time it was running at 2.3 (I only know cause we thought about doing a birthday run and thought 2.3 was a little low, oh what a disappointment that I ran trips with customers below 1).
So it should start running here any day , but let's all pray that the weather stays cool so we can see some high water or at least some water in July! Word is that the snow pack and water levels are over 100%, but again this can all change very rapidly.... And I am sure this situation can be weighed in on by other Poudre paddlers that know a lot more than me!
jen84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2007   #4
Palisade, Colorado
controlled river?

umm...the poudre is not controlled.
pure, rocky mountain snowmelt...
peak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2007   #5
the fort, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2001
be patient. the river will come up when the temps warm up a bit. just hope for more cooler, rainy weather to make the melt last well into july and hopefully august.
By the waterside I will lay my head.
Listen to the river sing sweet songs to rock my soul.