Go Back   Mountain Buzz > Whitewater Boating > Whitewater Kayaking

Old 06-21-2005   #1
What's with the sorority click at the play park?

Can somebody elaborate on this for me? Was at the Golden play park Saturday with a friend (I'm just learning so that's why we were there in the first place) and he spent some time playing in the hole (makes me laugh just to type) while I watched... the group of guys that were already there acted like babies about taking turns, making comments to eachother and just being little bitches in general. Is there a "rush" we missed or some club sign up sheet to be allowed in the play hole or special rules only certain people know about like the guy with white zinc on his entire face? Just curious...
Old 06-21-2005   #2
That sucks, usually everybody up there is cool.

Flying Fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2005   #3
Golden, Colorado
yeah, agree, that's pretty lame and unusual.

the only thing i can think of is that you are a hot chick and they were tryng to be top dog. guys get weird around river betties sometimes. who the hell knows though? kayaking isn't immune to assholes, for sure.
bkp77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2005   #4
ski/kayak bum
i cant comment on your exact situation but just as in surfing golf basketball ect. there are unspoken rules about being in a play park. the rules just as with individual foursomes in golf, court rules in basketball and lineups in surfing can change just a little bit with the crowd or spot. if you dont know the etiquette(sp) then it is your responsibility to ask. knowing boaters they tend to be a teaching and helpful group so feel free to approach and ask, most would be glad to explain and answer questions.