Old 04-18-2006   #1
Wearing glasses on the river?

Ok I am guilty of being forum newb and asking alot of questions, its so fun!

Seriously I am new to glasses and wear a light script but now that I wear them, taking them off sucks. If anyone else wears them what the hell do you do when you go kayaking?

Sports glasses?

Just haven't figured it out yet. Thanks

Jobu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2006   #2
Summit, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1996
Send a message via AIM to COUNT
If you do, either use disposable contacts (cheap ones) or a REALLY good croakie. I used to wear mine but I found the water on the lenses was more distracting than just dealing with not having my glasses. I bring my spare pair with me on long trips or ones that I expect to be doing a lot of scouting technical and difficult drops. Kinesthetics is the most important thing kayaking. MO.

"The world would be a better place if everyone kayaked."-Brad Ludden (Valhalla)
"You only get one chance to run a drop blind."-DD
COUNT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2006   #3
pnw, Washington
gh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2006   #4
Denver, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2002
I've worn my glasses on about 150 runs over the last four-plus seasons. Never had a problem -- the strap keeps them where they need to be, and I'd never want to sacrifice vision on the river. I wear contacts when I'm not in my boat, but I got real tired of losing contacts on the river so I switched to glasses for paddling.

my 2 cents
Id725 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2006   #5
you dont have any problems seeing through your glasses when they are dripping?
Jobu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2006   #6
In this bullshit three-ring circus sideshow of freaks, Arkansas
Paddling Since: 1986
Send a message via AIM to kayakArkansas