Go Back   Mountain Buzz > Whitewater Boating > Whitewater Kayaking

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-23-2009   #1
Vancouver, BC
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
URGENT: American Help Needed for Canadian Rivers!

If you’ve ever enjoyed boating a Canadian river, and want to do so in the future, your help is needed!

The Canadian government is trying to amend the Navigable Waters Protection Act, one of the oldest pieces of legislation in the country, and together with the Fisheries Act, is the only piece of federal legislation responsible for protecting waterways in the country.

The current government is hoping to change the definition of what is considered a navigable waterway, and the proposed changes mean that kayaks, canoes, rowboats, sailboats, in fact, anything with a draught of less than 1 meter is no longer considered a vessel for the purposes of navigability classification. Once a waterway loses its navigability classification, an environmental assessment will no longer be considered for any work occurring on the waterway. This will allow unlimited dam, bridge, causeway, diversion, marina, etc, construction.

That’s right -you are not reading a misprint, the above (and much more) are a few steps away from becoming a new reality. I urge you to go to http://www.ispeakforcanadianrivers.ca/ and see for yourself.

What can you do? The government is trying to fast-track the changes through parliament by hiding them in the Budget Implentation Act (our version of the Economic Stimulus Package). They are saying that the changes are needed to jump start the infrastructure projects that will raise us out of this recession (because the Hoover Dam worked so well 70 years ago….).

Tourism and recreation revenues are proven performers for Canadian businesses; if you’ve ever spent money in Canada on a boating trip, please drop a quick line to the following committee members and let them know that you hope to enjoy Canadian waterways the way they are for years to come. Let them know that you oppose the inclusion of NWPA changes in the BI Act, and want the proposed changes to undergo proper, fair review.

The committee meets tonight, and decision are expected to be made shortly so please do so now!



TweedM@parl.gc.ca; Volpe.J@parl.gc.ca; LafraM@parl.gc.ca; Bevington.D@parl.gc.ca; Brown.L@parl.gc.ca; Dhaliwal.S@parl.gc.ca; Gaudet.Ro@parl.gc.ca; Hoeppner.C@parl.gc.ca; Jean.B@parl.gc.ca; Kennedy.G@parl.gc.ca; MayesC@parl.gc.ca; WatsoJ@parl.gc.ca; tran@parl.gc.ca; Rajotte.J@parl.gc.ca; Laforest.J@parl.gc.ca; Pacetti.M@parl.gc.ca; Bernier.M@parl.gc.ca; Carrier.R@parl.gc.ca; Dechert.B@parl.gc.ca; Kramp.D@parl.gc.ca; McCallum.J@parl.gc.ca; McKay.J@parl.gc.ca; Menzies.T@parl.gc.ca; Mulcair.T@parl.gc.ca; Wallace.M@parl.gc.ca; Ignatieff.M@parl.gc.ca; Trudeau.J@parl.gc.ca; McGuinty.D@parl.gc.ca; Scarpaleggia.F@parl.gc.ca; mitchg@sen.parl.gc.ca; Regan.G@parl.gc.ca; Tonks.A@parl.gc.ca; Rae.B@parl.gc.ca; Brison.S@parl.gc.ca; bairdj@parl.gc.ca; Prentice.J@parl.gc.ca; lafram0@parl.gc.ca; will.munsey@greenparty.ca; McGuintyD@parl.gc.ca; Duncan.L@parl.gc.ca; bigrab@parl.gc.ca; petergraham@greenparty.ca; scarpf@parl.gc.ca; Hyer.B@parl.gc.ca
itspukin is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Topic Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Daming Canadian Rivers (Ashlu & Beyond) xkayaker13 Whitewater Kayaking 0 02-23-2009 01:15 PM
Urgent: Raftguide & Kayaker needed for Guatemala Rafting pescador Whitewater Rafting 4 09-12-2008 10:56 AM
Need Grand Canyon Oarsmen - URGENT! jjcleeves Whitewater Kayaking 0 06-17-2008 01:35 PM
Canadian / BC Boaters Watch Out!!!! shuttelhunny Whitewater Kayaking 1 03-12-2008 11:16 AM
canadian river nm pablo Whitewater Kayaking 2 05-02-2004 01:46 AM

» Classified Ads
2016 Dagger Axiom 9.0 (LG)

posted by atom

2016 Dagger Axiom 9.0 Used a handful of times. Great...

Jackson Rock Star(Medium)

posted by Paddling Life

Brand new 2016 Jackson Kayak Rock Star

Demo 2016 Jackson Karma...

posted by 4CRS

Used 2016 Jackson Karma Unlimited whitewater race kayak -...

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:19 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.