Old 08-07-2015   #1
west jordan, Utah
Paddling Since: 2015
Unable to roll

Hi, I am new to white water kayaking and am having a problem that maybe someone could give advise on. I took a ww kayak class and of course I was the only one that never was able to get a roll down. But anyhow, I picked up a used Pyranha Karnali thinking I would practice in my community pool when no one was around. I put some float bags in back and filled in the gap between footrest and front of kayak with foam.

So I went down the last two days to practice and still not coming close to rolling. What I did notice is that when I reach my paddle up on the other side, I can't get the end of the paddle out of the water and it looks (from goggles perspective) that my kayak floats so high that I literally can't reach up over it enough to have the whole paddle out of water. I even reach to the point and try to bend my body to the point that I am starting to slide a little out of seat.

Not sure if this type of thing happens very often but couldn't seem to find any information on the internet. Every time I have a kayak question this place seems to have the answer.

Thanks in advance, John

Dragonsmack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2015   #2
Sacramento, California
Paddling Since: 2012
It would be worth taking a rolling lesson, but with someone else. You might also consider learning from someone who teaches a C to C roll if you were trying the sweep roll prior, or visa versa. Some people do better with one or the other.

When I learned, and still today, all roll teachers in my area teach the sweep roll, but I found the C to C roll to be more reliable.

If you want some video instruction, this is the best resource I've ever seen online:

Look at the rolling and bracing video play list.

bystander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2015   #3
Boise, Idaho
Two really dumb tricks that helped me figure it out (though it might not help with your specific problem):