Old 11-05-2010   #1
Placerville, California
Paddling Since: 2010
Travel Between Futa and Pucon

I'm gonna spend some time kayaking in Chile this summer and am leaning toward splitting my time between the Futaleufu valley and Pucon. I'll start and end in Futa with a side trip into Pucon. What are my options for travelling between Futa and Pucon? I'm interested more in efficiency here than price. I'd rather avoid the trip taking two or three days each way if possible. Thanks in advance for any advice! I'm new to kayaking and I've never been to South America so I could sure use some help.

kirbz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010   #2
carbondale, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1995
how is it that you'll be starting your trip in futa? that's pretty hard to do.
though while there, go to town to josh lowery's place. he's got a raft and kayak service right as you enter town from esquel. tell whoever's there that you wanna go to pucon. somebody will be going every once in a while. there's folks going back and forth.

onefatdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010   #3
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1996
There is a bus from Futaleufu to the Pucon area that goes through Argentina. Or you can take the ferry from the "town" of Chaiten to Puerto Montt. Onefatdog has a point... how are you starting at the Futa? Here is the ferry site: Fiordos y Canales patagonicos.Viajes y Navegación por Patagonia. Navimag Ferries - Turismo Patagonia Chilena. ... also talk to Aren and Sarah Rane @

good luck! I had a blast last winter...
mhelm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2010   #4
Pucon Chile Paddling Since: 1990
Futa to Pucon

Are you traveling with or without kayak?

Option A Go through Argentina: You'll take a series of buses through Argentina's Esquiel and Bariloche then onto Pucon. If you are a budget traveler who can handle close to 24 hours of travel in and out of bus stations then this is a good option.