Old 12-13-2010   #1
Paddling Since: 96
The Roll

I wrote this several years ago, 4?, before I was living out here. I don't believe I ever posted it here cuz it didn't seem gnar enough for the Buzzards. It takes place on the section of the Ark with the House Rock rapid at a medium high flow. Anyway, an off season read...

We were on a new river, in a new state, in borrowed boats. She was upside down in a highly aerated almost toilet bowl type of a spot at the bottom of the crux drop on a run at the edge of her comfort and experience. She missed her first roll and I held my breath waiting to see what would happen next.

I've been paddling with my kids for 10 years now. My son and I caught the fever immediately and paddled passionately (100+ days a year) from the first year. My daughter was 9 years old that first year and not interested in whitewater. Winters would come and she'd come to the pool with us and snap off hand rolls on both sides but still she wanted nothing to do with being scared on the river. No worries, I was happy that she had even that limited exposure.

She paddled the Nantahala one year. That winter the whole family (four of us) went to Chile and Chris Spe's beautiful operation on the Futaleufu. Her brother and I paddled the Futa for 10 days while she and her Mom took lessons from some of the World's best on the class 2/3 Espolon. Still, the combat roll was not part of her repertoire. Her talent and basic skills were obvious and beautiful. In fact, her ability to paddle class 3 without flipping contributed to her having no experience with combat rolls.