Old 02-25-2014   #1
Edwards, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2012
The beginning of the rest of my life!!

I'm currently a high school student who's gotten hooked on kayaking. I love the outdoors, mountains, and the rivers. I'm looking at colleges right now and deciding what I'm gonna do for the rest of my life.

What I'm asking I guess is where are some options for college that are not too metro and have a variety of kayaking spots nearby.

Also, I have to think about what I would major in so I can get a job haha. I want to live in a mountain town and I am wondering what are some good jobs in mountain towns so I could support a family and my kayaking addiction.

Thanks so much!

Colorado // Kayaking // Skiing // Film
Caleb125 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2014   #2
Avon, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1997
First you have to decide on your interests (job wise).

If i was too do it all over again i would study Landscape Architecture. Its rewarding, plenty of jobs in the mtns (due to high end homes/landscape budgets), and pays well.

You can work for an architectural outfit (desk job) or start your own design/build company (desk and outside). But that is just me.

You could also study building construction. be a Project Mangler up in the mountains.

Another option that would require schooling is Food/Beverage/Hospitality. Run a Hotel, restaurant.

The get rich (relative) option is to go into software sales or banking. MOve to Silicone Valley, Charlotte or Northern Virginia....not so much outdoors.

Since you are from Eagle....if you were my son...i'd send your ass to the East or West Coast...see something differernt. Get away from CU, CSU and Montana (JMO).

I went to Virginia Tech, plenty of kayaking and WW nearby. Asheville North Carolina also has much WW. I don't know the Oregon / Wash St. schools.

ENDOMADNESS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2014   #3
salida, Colorado