Old 11-28-2010   #1
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2009
Tatshenshini River

I'm fairly new to whitewater kayaking, (I started paddling on the Middle Fork of the Salmon with Mountain Travel Sobek in an inflatable during 2009.) Lately I have been interested in self supported trips, and have been curious about good class II to III trips with whitewater, as well as scenery and wildlife. I found one in Alaska- the Tat River. Is it possible to do a self supported trip with one double ducky, four singles, and a Jackson Little Hero, along with 6 people? Will we have to go ultralight to do this 11 day trip? Also, is the whitewater the right level for us, who are all at the same skill level as me? (Up to III+.) Any info on the river will also help.

JohnMuirJr. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010   #2
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Never Mind

Never mind. I realized that is is way too hard to plan for, and get the permit, and organize for the flight out, etc. Plus the expenses are very high.

Old 11-29-2010   #3
Canon City, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2000
Consider doing a trip closer to home. Low season on the Yampa is an awesome II-III self support run. Last August, my brother and I didn't even see another soul until we got to the Green. The San Juan might also be a good one to look at.
climbdenali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010   #4
Bozeman, Montana
Paddling Since: 1999
John check out south fork of flathead, 27 mile hike, 47 miles river
caspermike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010   #5
Kayenta, Arizona
Paddling Since: 2006
Dear John,

My girlfriend and I have done self-support trips in our double ducks for the past three seasons. We are primarily class III paddlers and have great fun and success.