Old 06-22-2004   #1
Golden, Colorado
Take out/Put In Etiquette at Busy Places?

I'm a little new to rafting and busy put-ins/take outs and was wondering what good form is during busy times? I saw someone giving a little attitude to another group this past weekend at a take out and it got me thinking that I would like to know the right/wrongs of that situation.

I guess I'm just looking for some do's and don'ts.

bkp77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2004   #2
Wheat Ridge, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1995
Good question...

Be courteous and considerate, have a good attitude, and communicate with the other folks there.

Offer a hand with the big stuff if you see folks need it and ask for a hand you need one. If its crowded, the good thing is that there'll be folks standing around who'll be glad to help carry your boat down to the water. Remember that beer is the universal currency down by the river.

Think about where you'll be staging your gear, airing up, rigging, etc. and make sure that you're not impeding the flow of traffic to/from the water.

Whenever I'm going to a busy launch area, I try to prepare/arrange things ahead of time so there's less rigging at the put in.

Once rigged, move your boat off the ramp and tie it up someplace out of the way.

Don't get swept up in the frenzied go-go-go mode that you'll run into at Shoshone or other really busy places - that's not what we boat for.

Throw down for an old snowmobile trailer and arrive at the put-in rigged and ready to go.

Other things - If you're running Shoshone or Grizzley Creek, you can call the rangers ahead of time and they'll know when big groups of commercials are launching so you'll know what time to avoid. Eagle Ranger Dist # (Shosho) 970-328-6388 (# may be old). You can probably do the same at Brown's.