Old 05-04-2010   #1
Salt Lake City, Utah
SUP Question

So I'm thinking on bringing a SUP on our upcoming San Juan trip in June. My wife can get this one from her shop. C4 Waterman 10-0 Pohaku Epoxy Stand Up Paddle Board. Will this be OK for mild whitewater? It seems that the inflatables are a better choice, am I wrong? I'm a total SUP noob, will I be all over or should I say under with this board?

Skyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010   #2
Salt Lake City, Utah
Bump. Wow, 87 view and not a single reply?? And I thought the buzzards were all over the SUP thing.

Old 05-06-2010   #3 doing the damn thing
Evergreen, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2002
I dont know much about the San Juan, as I am just getting started on WW, but I have been stand up paddling for about 6 years now.

If the river isnt boney, you'll be fine with a composite board, so long as no one minds bumping into 10' of board in the raft. There is no way I could run the Poudre in anything other than an inflatable, so I have 2. It's nice to be able to stow them for long periods of time, but the performance sucks.

Come check out the event over Memorial Day at the Glenwood wave. Try them out, see what you think is going to work for you, talk to people and see what they think.
ACheateaux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010   #4
Salt Lake City, Utah
Thanks for the relpy. We'll see how it goes. I guess I'll need to see how it can be attached to the raft when we are not on it. That may be a pain.
Old 05-06-2010   #5
GWS, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1992