Old 04-28-2013   #1
Farmington, New Mexico
Starting over after 10 years. Any tips?

Well, I was going to type out a whole essay worth of information, from back story to present, but decided to just keep it short and simple for now. Basically I started whitewater kayaking about 15 years ago, ran the lower Animas for a few years, and quit due to work and schooling. I've decided I wanted to get back into it again after it popped into my head a month ago, and I've been obsessed with the thought ever since.

Right now I'm looking to purchase a whole new setup in the next month or so. I'm still a beginner who prefers class I-II and the occasional class III, and I'm not much into playing yet. I simply want a boat that's forgiving and easy to work with, that will get me down the river. Through a lot of research I've narrowed my top choices down to the LL Remix or Stomper, and haven't yet determined which would be best, so I thought I'd ask opinions. Any input?

Also, I do plan on retaking some lessons, getting in some pool time to practice my rolls, and practicing those rolls until I can do them without thinking. I plan on working on my skills until I know them well, and continuing to progress and improve. A few lessons or refreshers here or there can't hurt.

Any advice, good or bad, will be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Aysx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013   #2
Kayak & SUP Lessons
Durango, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1999
Hi Erin,