Old 07-26-2006   #1
South Platte near Chatfield

Can anyone give me some good information on the South Platte stretch after Chatfield. I'm new to Colorado have really only kayaked Clear Creek and am taking some beginners this Saturday. I was thinking Clear Creek but there will be about 13 of us so to make the day a little more manageable I thought I'd see about the South Platte near Chatfield.

Where do you put in? Where is the best place to take out? What is the run like? Is there decent whitewater that would still make it fun even if it is very easy? How long is the run?

Basically I know nothing about this other than you could do a 4 mile run and get out by the Platte River Bar and grill. Also do you know if the level there is decent enough now?

schgred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2006   #2
Indian Hills, Colorado
I've never floated the entire section, but can give the following advice:

Probably best above 500 cfs, 200 probably a minimum, fun above 1000.
Check Chatfield gage before you leave, it changes frequently due to reservoir releases.

Water is clean relative to confluence park, but still smelly and murky. Very smelly muddy river banks.
Some people have said they love the float. I wouldn't refer to it as "quality" in any sense of the word.
Just like taking home a fat chick, it might be more bearable if adult beverages are enjoyed before/during/after.

Right now, Deckers (South Fork of South Platte River) is running at a decent level. About 45 minutes outside town, but a really beautiful canyon and nice beginner float (Class II - II+). That would be my recommendation.

Have fun!

DanOrion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2006   #3
Thanks for the site. Does anybody know anything else about this stretch of river?
schgred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2006   #4
You access the put-in off of C-470, just west of Santa Fe. The Platte River Grill is a good take and place to have a margarita afterwards.