Old 08-30-2004   #1
Denver, CO, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2003
Shoshone Question?

I am new to kayaking(5 months or so) and I am looking for some information on the Shoshone run on the CO river. I am planning on running it over Labor Day weekend and the flows look fine. I would like to get some feedback from anyone who is familiar with the run to give me an idea of what to expect. I know it is a class III run and it is fairly short. I have run the Frog Rock section of the Arkansas and I wonder if this is comaparable? I am planning on going with a few other solid boaters, but I just want to do my homework before I get in over my head.

Any feedback is appreciated.

allgood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2004   #2
I am new to kayaking (1 month), and I have been on Shoshone a couple of times. I like it cause it has a decent volume to it. I completed my first combat rolls on the run (3x). I never cracked my noggin on any rocks, unlike some other places...

The skinny of the run is that it basically has 4 wave trains of decent size.. There are pools at the bottom of each wave train, and this is also appealing to the beginner..

I guess the power plant needs aprox 1200cfs to operate, so it is pretty consistent at this time of year where everything else is low..

Good luck...

bouldrmatty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2004   #3
Paddling Since: 1997