Old 06-24-2010   #1
Frisco, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1985
Ruby/Horsethief thoughts?

Hello all, I'm a journalist in Frisco. Used to work for the Summit Daily and recently started a new online community news web site, Summit County Citizens Voice. I just posted a story on the BLM's plan to change management in the Ruby-Horsethief Canyons area and I'm looking for some more input for a followup story. Looking forward to hearing from anyone that thoughts on the subject.

bberwyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2010   #2
Fort Collins, Colorado
Paddling Since: '05
I am assuming you are talking about the rumor that they are going to regulate that stretch of river as in permits etc? For me it's a double edged sword. Permits keep non-boaters out, thus reducing some of the danger associated with unexperienced and unprepared boaters on the water. At the same time, this is a pretty tame stretch of water we're talking about here, and the fact that you can drive up and float it whenever you want is super awesome. I hate to see government tighten the reins on anything, especially backcountry access. I guess my final two cents is the old 'slippery slope' argument. If we start requiring permits on every stretch of river where dumb rednecks and renters can go out and get drunk and float, there won't be much left pretty soon.