Old 07-26-2009   #1
Royal Gorge Beta

Thinkn of rafting the gorge for the 1st time next weekend in my 13 foot hyside. I have 2 years of experience in my raft, and have been successful at running the upper and lower eagle at hiwater numerous times as well as browns at hiwater. Wondering how these might compare to a gorge trip, even though it is lower flows. Always stayed away from it because of the commitment of being in a deep canyon and not roadside like most other runs we have done. I would likely be w a strong paddle team so that is not an issue. My 8 years of kayaking has taught me solid river running skills. Also we would probably have another similiar raft w us. Thoughts or concerns at these flows.

thogan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2009   #2
do it

I think you'd likely be fine, but the gorge is a hearty step up from what you've mentioned and has several moves at below 500cfs that come out that can be definitely tricky. However, the run has a roadside feel due to the train tracks. It might as well be roadside. Definitely not really gorged in down there. A world class rafting run for sure. It's "trainside" and foot traffic on the tracks is common, allthough frowned upon, but okay. If you could find a someone to follow that would help a lot.

Look out for metal

chiefton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2009   #3
Denver, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2006
At these flows you would be fine. River is not that pushy. Biggest problem is that it will be a little bony. Higher flows can actually be a bit easier, particularly for a raft. Just scout Sunshine (there will be an eddy river right early on with a large water pipe above it. You will have to walk down the pipe) as this is probably the rapid of most concern for a raft. Wall slammer will be right under the bridge and has a bony entrance at these flows, but again, in a raft you should be fine as you can just bounce off the wall, something kayaks do not have the luxury of.