Old 05-08-2011   #1
Ft. Collins, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1998
Rowing your cat

I'm new to rowing a cataraft (16') in whitewater, I've taken it mostly on flat water overnight trips so far & have set the oars mid-line and mostly balance the wt in the front & back- now I have the opportunity to take it on whitewater overnight trips. I've noticed in pictures of people rowing cats in big water that some have set their oars up closer to the bow and some are set up more mid-line. Any one have some advice/opinion on where & why you set your oars on a cat rig where you do? Any advice/opinion on where/how you pack your wt- is it really much different from balancing a raft?

Robin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2011   #2
portland, Oregon
Paddling Since: 1991
If boat is heavily loaded I like middle as it gives you best ability to turn and maneuver. I try and keep the mass towards the middle (which is difficult because i have legs and also like to be able to pull my oars in and down and this cuts into prime gear storage area) the mass towards the center allows the boat to turn easier as the moment of inertia is less.

I think in very technical whitewater the preference is to be able to see and read the water but I really don't run much that is class iv when the river is screaming

The boats I see this way don't seem to have as much gear as I have

Hey, if you want me to take a dump in a box and mark it "guaranteed", I will. I got spare time.
Avatard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2011   #3
Boulder, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1986
The important thing is balanced weight. If I am running empty, then my body is pretty close to the middle of the waterline, so naturally the oars are forward. Generally speaking, weight is every cat's enemy. You just don't want it. So, for overnight trips, pack light. After that, there are a lot of solutions, but I choose to put everything behind me and sit a little forward of center.
pearen is offline   Reply With Quote