Go Back   Mountain Buzz > Whitewater Boating > Whitewater Kayaking

Old 04-04-2005   #1
Questions about these river runners/creekers?

I've seen this new style of boat called the river runner/creeker which is what the Wavesport Diesel and the Jackson Hero are called. They seem to differ from a normal creeker by having a flatter bottom for planing and rails for sharper turns. I think they also have less rocker?

I assume they aren't for hard core creekers who need a nice smooth rounded bottom for boofing and don't want the rails in squirly water.

Is the flat bottom of these boats for surfing? I assume you can only surf big waves with these boats and any tricks are pretty hard.

Anything else about these boats I'm missing?

stiff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2005   #2
Send a message via MSN to Jiberish

Im not an expert on the Jackson hero, however, the diesel can surf both small and big waves. It is very forgiving, and can huck at the same time. You can check out some pics here:

http://www.localpaddler.com/gallery.php -then type in Wavesport Diesel under the search. Some of the biggest air loops I have ever seen were in the diesel.

Hope this helps~

Jiberish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2005   #3
Charc in = charc out
Seattle, Washington
Paddling Since: 1992
this concept isn't new. it started back in the late 90's with the Y & then the H2, & prolly some others that i'm spacing.

flat hulls are just bad for your back/spine when you're doing anything vertical. they boof fine, but land poorly. chines aren't a big deal in "squirrely water", but on the other medium that we deal with -- rock -- they suck. the H2 would get hung up on the downstream rail (often causing a late brace or even a flip) while making lateral moves across shallow creekbeds, esp. slides.