Old 03-12-2010   #1
Boulder, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2000
Plans for the season

I am relatively new to colorado boating (2 seasons) and also have a very poor memory so I don't have a really good idea of when the various runs have water in them. However, I am trying to plan out my season so I can make the most of it.

What class IV-V runs have water in them in the spring, middle of summer and late in the summer? Which runs have short seasons that are really good? I am basically trying to get a calender going of what to run and when.

Anybody care to share what they are planning on running when the water starts flowing? By the way I live near Boulder and so will mostly be paddling stuff on the front range.

Last season I ran Black Rock, Lower Clear Creek, Gore, Boulder Creek, Big Thompson (not the gnar), Big South (portaged a lot), Spencer Heights, Joe Wright (sort of), Bailey, Pine Creek/Numbers, North Saint Vrain Proving Grounds, South Saint Vrain easy stuff, and probably some other stuff that I forgot.

So what should I hit up this season and when? I am interested in hearing other peoples plans. Thanks.

Claytonious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010   #2
185 lb. waste of space, Keeping Glenwood Springs real
Paddling Since: 1864
Go where the snow melts, when it melts. You can't make a solid plan but look up in Whitewater of the Southern Rockies and it usually gives a window of flow. Each year is different and while sometimes very similar there can be times when it is off completely. Last year was a pretty weird snow melt and I am guessing so will this year, with the lack of snow and the hopefully late season El Nino precip.

I tried to plan out the melt for my bike trip last year and while most of it went well the south had a odd melt and kinda messed stuff up. If you have a car and time though you should be able to hit it all.

I am sure someone will get on here with the general melt scenarios, I am just too lazy tonight,

970-217-21 six six