Go Back   Mountain Buzz > Whitewater Boating > Whitewater Kayaking

Old 10-17-2008   #1
Boulder, Colorado
Paddling Since: 0000
opinions about the Gross Resevoir expansion project

I am a student from the Watershed school in boulder working on a project researching the opinions of recreational stakeholders in the Gross reservoir expansion project. Denver Water's plan is to expand Gross reservoir by three times its current size. Most of the water to fill the dam will be pumped from the West side of the divide and stored in the expanded reservoir. So what would be helpful for me to know is:
1. What is your general opinion on this proposal?
2. Are there recreational water rights on South Boulder Creek?
3. What alternatives do you think could be possible?
4. How do you think it will affect the economy? (does kayaking South Boulder Creek have an affect on the economy?)
muchas gracicas

wade@watershed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008   #2
SE, Tennessee
Paddling Since: 1991
You may want to go to FERC.gov website and use their library feature and look up all the public comments on the proposed changes. I believe Gross is p-2035.

smallie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008   #3
My answers:

1) I'm not a fan of dams and reservoirs, but it's reality and being able to kayak a big river isn't as important as people's water needs. If they put more water in SBC where we can kayak it for a longer season, that's not the worst thing.

2) There are only a few places where there are recreational water rights and those are at the play parks. So, there are no water rights for recreation in SBC, but we certainly have the right to kayak in SBC where there is water.