Old 07-07-2009   #1
Lansing, Illinois
Old Pyranha?

Hi, I am thinking about buying an old Pyranha Creek 280 as my first whitewater kayak (I have only ever used rec kayaks). I was wondering if anybody had tried out this one and would give me some feedback, because I can't seem to find any info about it online. I also wondered if there was any reason I should avoid buying an older boat. Sorry if that is a really obvious question, please bear with me cause I'm new at this, Thanks.

fightwithfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009   #2
Golden, Colorado
Here is a little description of that boat from Eddy Flower:
Pyranha Creek 280

It is an old-school design. It would probably be OK for a first boat, to learn how to roll and run some whitewater. With a boat that old my first concern would be UV damage. Try to find out what year they bought it new. If they left it out in the sun at all then it is probably brittle and will explode on impact.

I probably wouldn't pay more than a token amount ($50?) for it. You can hardly give away old-school boats these days. Obsolete designs are not really worth anything but they are good for instruction and for picking up the sport.

Whatever you do, don't pay much for it. If it is an acquaintance who owns the boat they should give it to you. I don't think it is very reasonable to ask for money for a 15 year old kayak design. It is kind of like trying to sell a pair of skis from 1994.

Here is a snippet of some advice about the different kinds of boats that I gave to a friend who was getting into the sport:

"There are several categories of whitewater kayaks. The categories are changing a little bit with advances in design and in the general knowledge of the boating community but the basic types are: 1) playboat, 2) river runner, 3) creek boat