Go Back   Mountain Buzz > Whitewater Boating > Whitewater Kayaking

Old 11-15-2014   #1
Off-season Conditioning and Shoulder Strengthening Tips?

Max's thread got me thinking. Two things the last few years that I'd like to improve upon:

1) I'm not in great shape and am limited because of that.

2) My shoulders have gotten "tweaks" of pain several times in the last 3-4 seasons, after which, I typically take it really easy for a few weeks until they start feeling better. These "tweaks" are typically from reactionary improperly high braces due to self-taught poor technique (and once from a bad hands roll attempt), which I've since taken some classes from CW and have focused on improving my paddling and bracing technique last season to avoid further injuries.

My questions are:

What do you do for off-season conditioning to be in great shape for kayaking the next season? (I've never been a gym guy, but its not off the table.)

What (in addition to learning how to paddle properly) are the best ways to strengthen my shoulders in order to minimize the likelihood of ending up with a dislocation or injury and having to end up in surgery?

benR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2014   #2
Boulder, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2000
It's not kayak specific but shoulder stabilization is usually a mix of internal and external shoulder rotations and scapular exercises. Google torn rotator cuff treatments and you will get the info.

As for general conditioning - core exercises 1st, weights 2nd, cardio 3rd (maybe swimming/running 2-3 times a week), finally agility and balance once a week - because most injuries happen on shore. If you don't want to to do the gym route a TRX and some resistance bands make for a pretty good home setup. But don't buy a real TRX ($200) - they're silly expensive for what you get, just use some cam straps and make/buy your own handles or buy a WOSS Strap trainer off amazon ($27).

raftus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2014   #3
Jackson, Wyoming