Old 06-05-2005   #1
normal accidents and the sand pile effect

i've been quite captivated by the posts regarding the recent (and tragic) incidents on the river. indeed the whole topic of survival and death is a fascinating passion for me. i'm a seasoned class-iv boater with my normal share of stories and an experienced outdoorsman. i'm also a wfr and was first on the scene of the climbing fatality in boulder canyon on april 2nd...and it was the first time i had actually seen someone die. the topic of survival and wilderness accidents is something that i'm quite passionate about.

there have been some questions and comments in the threads about the increase in the incidents this year and i want to add my perspective on it. please note that i'm a math teacher by trade and that inherently makes me a bit of a geek, but i think what i have to offer is valuable in this context.

first off, the book deep survival by laurence gonzales is one of the best books i've ever read about why some people survive and some people don't. although the book is more about ocean survival, wilderness survival, and mountaineering accidents, i strongly strongly recommend it to any boater. it made me a better paddler because of what it did for my pysche and my own mental self-awareness during those occasions of meandering on the wrong side of the border between safety and danger.

some quotes from the book that i think relate...

"what we call 'accidents' do not just happen. there is not some vector of pain that causes them. people have to assemble the systems that make them happen. even then, nothing may happen for a long time. that is how mountains such as hood, mchkinley, and longs peak, and others get a reputation as milk runs. many people who get into the worst trouble on such nontechnical peaks are those who have climbed more difficult mountains elsewhere....they are hijacked by their own experience combined with ignorance of the true nature of what they're attempting to do.