Mountain Buzz banner

New to the sport!

4K views 13 replies 10 participants last post by  BrianK 
#1 ·
hey everyone,
I am new to kayaking but actively looking to break in to it. I have a few questions though. I would like to get into whitewater kayaking either river or creek not quite sure what the difference is as far as the boat and what is more prevelant in Northern Colorado. My questions are:

What type of boat should I get IE: size, type/model, important factors to consider? (I am 6'1 185lbs, 26 years old, pretty athletic but no Kayaking experience besides lakes and calm rivers)

Also, if anyone has any used equipment they think would help please let me know!

And does anyone know any good places to learn the basics in the Fort Collins area?

Thanks guys, need all the help I can get!

~Austin

#3 ·
I would also recommend Poudre River Kayaks, those guys lurk on here:

http://www.poudreriverkayaks.com/Poudre_River_Kayaks/Poudre_River_Kayak_and_Canoe.html

Demo as many boats as you can, I would get a river runner or playboat as the first kayak, but many differing opinions. The creek/river runner/playboat will all vary in saize and design so thats why demo'ing to find what you like is important. Take advantage of pool sessions now and join the Fort Collins Kayak Polo league if you still can.

#4 ·