Old 10-23-2015   #1
Boulder, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2004
New to kayaks

So I am new to kayaking and want to get some information on what kayaks are recommended for beginners. I'm interested in WW kayaking to be more specific. I am somewhere around 5' 10" weighing in at roughly 200lbs (that number is decreasing). Some things I have heard to start with: Jackson 4Fun, perception phat, dagger outlaw. Any information is appreciated. If anyone is in the Boulder, CO area and has some tips on where to start or shops for outfitting that would be appreciated. Thanks!

gonzo303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2015   #2
Pleasant Valley, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2002
I would highly encourage you to some lessons from Rocky Mountain Outdoor Adventures near Salida/BV. RMOC has some of the best instructors in the state. i. You can try a lot of different boats and and gain the basics of safety. CKS in Buena Vista is a good place to start looking for gear. Have fun, be safe.

Captain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2015   #3
Roseburg, Oregon
Paddling Since: 2015
You should test run the mamba 8.1,8.6. I started back in april in a mamba 8.6 (I'm 6ft 155lb) It has been a great boat. Rolls easy super stable and if you find yourself in a hole it does a danm good job at surfing out.
The Jackson Karma would be another boat to take for a ride. I have little xp with it but know a lot of people like it. It is a forgiving boat from what I gather.
Best of luck in your search for your first boat.
Poedunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2015   #4
Boulder, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2003