Go Back   Mountain Buzz > Whitewater Boating > Whitewater Kayaking

Old 06-21-2004   #1
Field Foreman
New(ish) paddler bought Prijon Alien, Mistake?

I have been paddling touring boats for about 5 years and recently decided to try whtewater. I was told that the Alien would be a good choice for me because I plan on progressing quickly, I paddle often, and will use it primarily on low volume rivers, not to mention I suffered from a tight budget. I found a great deal on an Alien and purchased it. I have since read both good and bad reviews on the Alien, and I am questioning my decision. Have I made a mistake? I am looking for honest feedback, but don't be too hard on me. Thanks!

nmyaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2004   #2
Laramie, Wyoming
Paddling Since: 1992
I found a great deal on an Alien
'Nuff said. Short answer, yes it was a mistake. That is a very unforgiving boat for a new(ish) paddler. You will either swim a lot or have a bomber roll.

badkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2004   #3
Field Foreman
OK. so is the Alien a bad boat, bad for a beginner, not suitable for learning, etc? Am I more likely to grow into it and enjoy it, or become frustrated with the sport? What would be a better choice for a beginner planning on river-running? Should I only look at planing or displacement hulls?
Old 06-22-2004   #4
Englewood, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1978
I agree with Brian. The Alien is widely thought to be the most unforgiving design ever. I would sell the boat and get something else with a planing hull. Forget displacement hulls unless you have absolutely zero interest in playboating. Planing hulls not only allow much more play, they offer certain other benefits in river running. If you are advancing quickly, but are still on a budget, I'd look for one of the following:

Pyranha Inazone
Wavesport X or Z
Dagger Outlaw or Showdown
Riot Booster

Best of luck,
Join up, suckas.