Old 03-23-2011   #1
DURANGO, 81301
Paddling Since: 2005
New Cat decision time...

I'm getting ready to buy a new cataraft in the next week or so. I've been rowing a 15'6" raft for a few years and now I want a cat. I still want an all around boat for the runs around here.( Durango, CO) Aire's Jag looks pretty good but it doesn't have much weight capacity, around 1000 lbs. I guess I want the best of both worlds, a sporty cat that can carry enough weight for the Grand Canyon. Right now I'm kind of leaning towards a Jack's Plastic Royal Flush. It's like a 16' cat with 25" tubes but they snubbed the noses. What do you guys think. Thanks........

Gumbydamnit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011   #2
Jenks, Oklahoma
JPW big red with the blunt snouts
go anywhere you want to go

okieboater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011   #3
Silverthorne, Colorado
I have an Aire lion 16' with a dre frame. Ark, eagle, blue, Colorado, green, Dolores, etc. It's a blast. I would recommend at least 44" internal width to allow for larger coolers.
WillYates is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011   #4
Park City, Utah
Paddling Since: 2001
I had an Aire Jag. It was nice and sporty, but got loaded down way too quick. Now I am in the process of building up an Aire Leopard. It is 18', but the tubes are 26.5" instead of 24", and the load capacity is almost 50% more. So hopefully it will still be somewhat sporty, since it still is decently rockered. Was also looking at the Aire Lions, but they and the JPWs just seem to flat.
BullSCit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011   #5
DURANGO, 81301
I'm not opposed to the lion but it seems like a bit over kill. Maybe it's the 27.5" tubes? I don't really like heights. HA!
Gumbydamnit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011   #6
vancouver, Washington
Paddling Since: 1996
I've got a lion. You have to duck when going under bridges ...