Old 07-01-2010   #1
Rifle, Colorado
Nervous Beginner

Hello all! I need some help...I am a beginner kayaker and I am having troubles dealing with nerves. I took a class where I had 3 days on the river and 4 in a pool. The only thing I can't nail right now is rolling. Everything else I know I can do, yet my nerves get the best of me and I freak out before I go. There is one 3 mile stretch that I did recently that I actually made it through twice and was starting to love it, but when I was signed up to go on a different stretch I couldn't get over my nervousness. I don't know if it is just cause I can't roll yet, or I am just freaking myself. On the snow it seems like I have no fear, in a sailboat no problems, but kayaking is getting the best of me. SO to make this incredibly long story short, how can I get over these nerves? The places on the river I have done, I really loved it! Anything new right now is still freaking me out. I am not looking for a solution, just some advice for beginner THANKS FRIENDS

dehamerj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2010   #2
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2008
Sounds very similar to my first season, and im sure there are quite a few others out there that felt the same during their first season.

What helped me:

- Continue goin to pool sessions on a regular basis to work on your roll(s), the different paddle strokes, edge control, finding your limits of your boat as well as the limits of your skill set right now. Working on everything and anyting you can think of in the pool will pay off the next times you hit the river. Getting your roll solid and building good boating habits/techniques in the pool will also help build your confidence. Thus, also building your comfort level and confidence being in your boat and on moving water.