Go Back   Mountain Buzz > Whitewater Boating > Whitewater Kayaking

Old 04-08-2009   #1
Evergreen, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2009
Need some help! Self Bailing vs. non-Self Bailing

Hello Everyone!

This might seem like a pretty stupid question, but I need to get it answered. I am new to this and am wondering what the real difference is between these two types of vessels. Obviously the self bailing has eyelets in the bottom that release the water and the non-self bailing does not.
I have seen a number of Hyside and NRS boats for very good prices, but they are the non-self bailing type. I just wonder what the downside to a non-self bailing boat is.
I plan on using my boat for fishing(The main reason!) and at the very most some minor day trips, maybe II-III with the family, at least until I get some experience under my belt.
So, do I run the risk of sinking my boat or do I need to have a pump available to bail the water out if I go with a non-self bailing?

Thank you very much for the help

cheublein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009   #2
Durango, Colorado
Paddling Since: 05
I have friends who swear by bucket boats- they say they stay upright better, which may be true. The boat is not going to sink when it fills with water, it's just going to be a lot harder to move. They may stay upright, but the chance of getting stuck on a rock is greater because they are so heavy when filled with water.

TakemetotheRiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009   #3
Eagle County, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2002
Self bailing is better. More time fishing, less time bailing.
It takes a big man to cry...It takes an even bigger man to laugh at that man.

-Jack Handy
WhiteLightning is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009   #4
Little Village, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2000
To me, bailing bucket boats is a giant distraction.
Uh, I'm just gonna go find a cash machine.
Riparian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009   #5
the fort, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2001