Old 06-29-2011   #1
Rifle, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2010
My Marble Mile swim

Embarrassing, but this is such a cool online community, that i figured I'd share my experience swimming and losing a boat yesterday and hoping this can be a learning tool for beginner and intermediate boaters. (Sorry if this is lengthy). I've learned tons reading threads like this so maybe this can help. I'm in my 2nd year of kayaking, having a terrific season and running alot of sections that are new to me. I feel confident in my skills but not OVERLY confident and consider myself an intermediate. A friend and I have been eyeing the upper section of the Bogan Canyon run for some time and decided to give it a go yesterday. Neither of us had run it before but i've read as much as I can in WWSR, CRC, Eddyflower, and MB and was confident I would be fine. Wasn't even concerned about the WW (not smart), just the wood really. We scouted all the roadside stuff we could and dropped in at the Yule Quarry Bridge. Well, hell, 15 minutes into the 'Marble Mile', this is what happened...

I'm fine, lucky to not get caught in a strainer (there are alot of them in certain channels up there), but ego-bruised and now boatless! Happy to be out safely though. Lessons learned for me:
1. When trying to step up your game on a section you've never done, THINK TWICE ABOUT GOING AT FLOOD LEVEL, maybe let it drop to a more manageable level.

I'm sure there is much more to be learned and I'll proceed cautiously from now on for sure. Actually, i just got a phone call that my boat was found, so that's great news! Hopefully, someone in my shoes trying to decide if they should try something new, that's harder than what they've been doing, this swim will help them make an informed decision. Feel free to comment or razz me if you want, i deserve it. My swim was far from perfect, but all i wanted to do is get the hell out of the river! Suggestions are welcome as well, happy paddling everyone