Old 11-15-2009   #1
most SCENIC- rogue or salmon?

based on SHEER BEAUTY of the surroundings- which is tops? rogue, middle fork, or main fork?
i know it's difficult as paddlers to not consider the level/challenge, etc. of rapids, but try to not let that influence your decision. i'm a photographer with an opportunity to shoot one of those three this summer for stock imagery- which would you choose? WHY?

bth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2009   #2
Central, Idaho
Paddling Since: 2000
The Middle Fork might give you some more options in terms of subject matter. Seems like there was better hiking and view opportunities on the Middle. The Middle also goes thru lots of different terrain from deep canyons to alpine to grasslands. Fishing on the Middle is awesome, especially if you wait for the water to drop. The Main has the best beaches. Wildlife on the Middle and Main are generally comparable. Hit the Rogue this fall and it was amazing with the Steelhead running and the fall colors. The Rogue seems like it runs deeper and being coastal has a lot of contrast with the weather,clouds, plant diversity etc. That said, I would still vote Middle but I'm a hack when it comes to photography. Good luck!

IdahoJay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2009   #3
Jenks, Oklahoma
All three are awesome, hard choice

I have run all three multiple times.

A photographer would not go wrong on any of them.

I agree with the above post in that my all around photo shoot would be the Middle Fork. The change from alpine creek to wide valley shots and the final run down impassable canyon with steep walls and big water make for awesome images. Wildlife is every where on the Middle Fork.

Having said the above --- all three are world class runs as far as scenic wonders are concerned.
okieboater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2009   #4
Pugetopolis, Washington
Paddling Since: 96
The Fork!
BarryDingle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2009   #5
Up North, Oregon