Old 05-01-2013   #1
Cleveland, Tennessee
Paddling Since: 2013
Major rolling anxiety.

First off, sorry for the lengthy post you guys! I am an extremely green beginner and I'm just seeking advice.

I've been taking my boat to the pool and trying to get my roll down before I head to the river. I've rafted white water and used inflatable kayaks with no issue at all, but the thought of being upside down in my river runner absolutely terrifies me. My boyfriend has been teaching me (he's an experienced white water kayaker and river guide) and I've watched tons of videos about it. I can get myself underwater fine, but once I do I just panic and pop my skirt without even thinking. This causes me to not want to go underwater at all and it's just a bad time all around. I really want to enjoy this, and I love being on the water, but being under it just isn't my cup of tea. Any advice?

almcd23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013   #2
Jackson, Wyoming
Do you wear goggle and especially nose plugs? Big help in getting comfortable. Maybe start by extending the time you hang upside down before getting out, without even worrying about the roll. Try to build confidence in the being upside down part, before you even worry about the roll.

wyosam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013   #3
BZN, Montana
Paddling Since: 2008
A couple of things.

There is nothing wrong with paddling inflatables. Many people with an aversion to being upside down underwater paddle inflatables, have a blast and don't get worked up about not being in a kayak. Which brings me to my next point.

Your boyfriend probably wants you to kayak and is putting a certain amount of pressure on you to perform. If you really want to give it a go, my advice is find someone else to teach you and some other people at YOUR level of paddling to go out/practice/learn with.