Old 01-19-2016   #1
Mount Olive, North Carolina
Paddling Since: 2013
Looking kayaking sponsorship..

I've been kayaking for a few years now, just started whitewater kayaking this past year. The gear can be rather expensive sometimes. So it got me thinking, can I get sponsored? Is there a way to get sponsored so I can get gear at a discount.

Sent from my LGUK410 using Mountain Buzz mobile app

kmherring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2016   #2
Fort Collins, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1986
Quit your job, move into your car (or your brother's garage), take a vow of poverty, become a raft guide and work somewhere where you can get Pro-Deal. In the process become an expert kayaker and ask around for sponsorships.

I would suggest you're more likely to fracture vertebrae in the process than you are to actually get sponsored.

You could also keep your real job and get used shit off of Mountainbuzz, Craigslist or related sites.

I see you're in North Carolina. Winning the Green Race or going huge during Gauley Fest would help.

Snotty sarcasm aside, the guys I worked with at the NOC in the mid 80s who were mind boggling good made peanuts for income but spent over 300 days paddling every year. It's basically a lifestyle choice.

Best of luck.

twmartin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2016   #3
San Jose, CA, California
Paddling Since: 1998
Are you comfortable living in a van/ truck and making less than $10,000 per year?
buckmanriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2016   #4
Denver, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2002
k2andcannoli is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2016   #5
West, Tennessee
Paddling Since: 1992
Send a message via AIM to Boyd
interested in sponsorship? I'd read this first...

I've been kayaking nearly a quarter of a century, sponsored for half my life, and on team JK for just over a decade... that said here's my advice for anyone who wants to get sponsored: