Old 05-20-2013   #1
Gunnison, 81230
Paddling Since: 2005
Looking for intro to creeking creeks

Hey there all. I live in Gunnison, Colorado these days and am looking for a good creek for learning on, preferably close. I've never done any creek boating before and am a little hesitant to step in through the door to that realm. I definitely don't have elbow pads or a face mask yet, so a class III would be fun. I was thinking about Plateau creek which leads up to Mesa from I-70 and looking at the Upper East. I'm aware that the East is mostly class IV, but I think it's that just because of the slides it has which I'm comfortable with the idea of. Anymore suggestions would be great. Thanks

wabisabimike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2013   #2
BZN, Montana
Paddling Since: 2008
If you are a CL III paddler just get runs in. Don't worry about whether or not you are creeking or river running or whatever. Just build skills and paddle different streams. The best creeking practice a CL III paddler can get it running hard moves on rivers that have rocks in them. Catch every eddy boof every rock, surf pillows, etc.

The sunshine walked beside her
glenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2013   #3
Eagle, Idaho
Paddling Since: '78

Upper East has a midget wrestler that will surprise ya.
GoodTimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2013   #4
Denver, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2007
Foxton on N Platte

Just go up to the boulder garden section when it's running (i.e. above 300 cfs) and run laps
tmcdevit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2013   #5
Abron Cabron
Santa Fe, Nuevo Mexico
Paddling Since: 1999
So i am not a class V'er, but i got a little beta for you if you're interested.hopefully this is informative and not redundant or demeaning...