Old 07-22-2014   #1
Sacramento, California
Paddling Since: 2012
Looking for Instructional resources

Hi all. I've looked through the forum a bit, and this seems to be the most active forum on whitewater I've seen anywhere and you guys seem to have fun doing it.

I'm pretty new to kayaking. I started on my brothers IK a couple years ago on a few class 2 runs and last year I learned to roll and started on my brothers mamba with a few class 2-3+ runs. This summer bought my own boat (a used 2nd gen Burn). I've been improving quite a bit lately after learning to brace, going 3 runs without hitting the water.

I've learned how to do a low brace, high brace, sculling brace, the bow draw, sweep stroke, ferry and how eddy in and out. I'm sure I can improve those skills and add more skills to my bag of tricks and hoping you guys can point me into the right direction and provide links to good resources to improve.

And is it just me, or is this whitewater stuff addictive?

bystander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2014   #2
Wheat Ridge, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1995

Welcome to the Buzz! I'm not sure who there is in your neck of the woods but you could make a trip out here to the Arkansas Valley where the water's dropping to easy levels and take lessons from Rocky Mt. Outdoor Center, one of great businesses that sponsors this forum and keeps the lights on at One MountainBuzz Plaza.

And yes, this whitewater stuff is addictive....

Nothing in the world is more yielding and gentle than water. Yet it has no equal for conquering the resistant and tough. The flexible can overcome the unbending; the soft can overcome the hard. - Lao Tse
Andy H. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2014   #3
Boulder, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1995
Takings lessons is a great idea. Wish I had done more of that earlier in my paddling, not that it's ever too late. Sounds like you're well on your way to a lifetime addiction.