Old 06-24-2012   #1
juneau, Alaska
Paddling Since: 2
looking for inflatable kayak advice

total newbie...been on one trip but loved it. I also live in AK so shopping is all done via internet.

This is mostly for exploring SE AK ocean and rivers with a companion or possibly solo w/ 2 dogs. Also wanted one for travel-thus the inflatable.

I've had a number of people tell me to try to sea eagle 380x, that they have good customer service w/ 3 yr warranty. I've had others say go Aire Lynx II w/ 10 yr warranty.

Looks like the sea eagle will run about $900 delivered and the aire lynx at least $1500 plus paddles, pump etc so I'm guessing around double the sea eagle cost.

Any thoughts, suggestions would be much appreciated. I can only go by the reviews I find online and I haven't seen much bad on either one.

AKHiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012   #2
Grangeville, Idaho
Paddling Since: 2002
I recommend getting the Hyside Padillac II. Very tough boat and can carry lots of gear. The downside is that it's $2000, but it'll last for decades.

Turner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012   #3
Bellingham, Washington
Paddling Since: 2004
Depending on how much ocean paddling you are going to do you may want to consider the Tributary Sawtooth II. It would be much better on the open water and cost less than the Lynx II.

Wiggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012   #4
Walterville, Oregon
Paddling Since: 1977
I just got back from a trip to SE Alaska. Opportunities for stream paddling seemed limited and you should be looking for a boat that shines on flatwater. I have a Lynx II and although it is a good boat for rivers, it is not that great in flatwater. I think a Super Lynx or Sawtooth would be a better choice.

Although I have not paddled a Sea Eagle I have been a Rogue trip with them. I think you would be dissapointed with their performance on flatwater and their longevity.