Old 08-17-2007   #1
B.F.E., Wyoming
Lets hear it Kayaks Vs. Rafts

So I know the fued but lets hear the pros/cons. They both have good qualities but i want to hear some of the less heard qualities. Im a beginner kayaker and was thinking a raft would be fun
so I decided it would be fun to see what comes up

freexbiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2007   #2
B.F.E., Wyoming

excuse the four other posts i have horrible time on this frickin site

freexbiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2007   #3
I enjoy both. In the spring and early summer, I use my creek boat for the adrenaline and adventure that i crave, and then I use my raft for the longer overnighters in the summer. Now that I am older (24) I find appreciation in having my own rig on the river with everything i need: beer, water, food, herb, etc. and rowing some nice III+ IV water, (Westwater, Cat, Hells Canyon type shit) seeing as how I am not an BV pro, is a huge rush. Completely different high than a kayak. I say, learn to kayak and rafting will be easy. You can always bring along the XXX for the killin' play.
alacy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2007   #4
pnw, Washington
Due to recent threads I am going to say rafts. Sounds like fun.
"Yesterday I was clever and tried to change the world. Today I am wise and try to change myself." -Rumi
gh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2007   #5
Boulder, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1995
Definately need both. Obviously kayaking is WAAAY cooler. you can always run much haarder stuff in a kayak and the logistics are so much simpler.

As alacy1 said rafts have there place too.

Great to be able to pack it all and not have to defend what you brought along to the uppity rafter who is carrying your shit.

Much more comfortable for long periods on the water, and much better place to have a drink holder and an umbrella in the dessert.