Old 04-04-2006   #1
Kayak parks running?

Ok, so I am new to summit county area and want to know if any of the play parks are running.. (ie breckenridge, vail) or how i can check if they are running.. ok, yes, i admit i am clueless..thanks

NicoleM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2006   #2
Summit, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1996
Send a message via AIM to COUNT
If you click on the flows tab at the top of the page, it give you all the relevant flows for the region. At the bottom of the Colorado River Drainage section are the flows for the Blue (through Breck, Silverthorne, and Green Mountain). You'll notice the depressing orange block for the Blue through Breck that has read 5cfs for months now. I'd say the play park is runnable down to 50 but doesn't start getting good 'til over 70. There's a tab for the Tenmile through Frisco, too (but I'm not sure what levels are good there). Unfortunately, the boating seen is typically quite bleak in Summit until May. You'll often find better play in the rivers around Summit than in the actual parks. There is a rumor that the Upper Blue may start running as early as next week . The Lower Blue through Green Mountain is a bit further but practically runs all the time (beware cold water, class V put-in for a class III run). I think there's a tab for the Vail play park in the Eagle Drainage on the Flows page. I still spend the majority of my time in Summit so let me know if you have any questions or want to go paddle. Just send me a PM or give me a ring.

"The world would be a better place if everyone kayaked."-Brad Ludden (Valhalla)
"You only get one chance to run a drop blind."-DD
COUNT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2006   #3
Cool topic!!!
The world is mine
KlaKla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2006   #4
The park in Pueblo is comming up fast it is 504 today and will be 800-1000 by the 13th. Come down for our river fest. on the 13th. The more the merrier!
snowski is offline   Reply With Quote