Old 08-21-2007   #1
Lyons, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2007
Info on Deckers?

Hi Folks,

Beginner Paddler here. I've been paddling for about two months, been gettign out twice a week and I have a decent roll. I have a Mamba 8.0 and some of my buds were talking about Deckers on Sunday. How does Deckers compare in diffifulty to like union Chutes at 950 or current levels in the Golden Playpark & Lyons October hole? I'm still a little intimidated (perhaps just good sense). I feel pretty comfortable going over the drops, still working on my surfing however.

schubutt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2007   #2
Snowmass, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1983
You should be fine on Deckers. It's not any more difficult than Union Chutes, but is natural. If you have even a semi-decent roll, I say go for it without hesitation. For some, Deckers is the first thing they run, and most do fine.

"A witty saying proves nothing."
- Voltaire (1694-1778)
earthNRG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2007   #3
Oh, man, Union Chutes and the Golden WW Park are definitely harder than Deckers. The lower part of Deckers is a bit more continuous and you have to watch out for rocks, but the waves and drops are easier than Union or Golden.

Deckers is gorgeous.

You may be even ready to do some of the easier stuff on Foxton. That's a great area.
basil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2007   #4
Boater, Colorado
Send a message via Yahoo to regf2603
You're fine

Hi Steve,

I think I took you down the south platte to Union for a river class?

Yeah Steve, you're fine for Deckers. Like some guy mentioned earlier, it is a nicer area than Union (no doubt about that!) and no harder.

regf2603 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2007   #5
pnw, Washington
first time down, scout the chutes, learning to scout is an important skill as well, start learning there
"Yesterday I was clever and tried to change the world. Today I am wise and try to change myself." -Rumi
gh is offline   Reply With Quote